Short Curriculum Vitae of Tom H. Koornwinder, October 6, 2020

Office address

Prof. dr. Tom H. Koornwinder University of Amsterdam, Korteweg-de Vries Institute postal address: P.O. Box 94248, 1090 GE Amsterdam, Netherlands email: thkmath@xs4all.nl home page: https://staff.fnwi.uva.nl/t.h.koornwinder/

Personal data

born: 19 September 1943, in Rotterdam citizenship: Netherlands marital status: married children: two

Education

kandidaats (=BSc) both in mathematics and in physics: University of Leiden, 1965
doctorandus (=MSc) in mathematics: University of Leiden, 1968
PhD: University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, 1975, promotor prof. dr. H. A. Lauwerier, thesis Jacobi polynomials and their two-variable analogues

Area of Specialization

Analysis, more in particular: Special functions and orthogonal polynomials

Regular employments

University of Leiden, student assistant, 1965–1968 Mathematical Centre, Amsterdam, researcher, 1968–1977 Mathematical Centre (=CWI), Amsterdam, senior researcher, 1977–1992 University of Amsterdam, Professor of Analysis, 1992–2008, during which:

- 1995–1996: Chairman of Department of Mathematics
- 1996–1997: Member of the faculty board and vice-dean of the Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics and Astronomy
- November 1997 January 2003: Director of the Korteweg-de Vries Institute
- January–November 2005: Chairman (ad interim) of Afdeling (Department) of Astronomy, Physics and Mathematics within the Faculty of Science

Since September 2008 Professor emeritus, permanent guest at the Korteweg-de Vries Institute

Visiting positions

Institut Mittag-Leffler, Djursholm, Sweden, graduate student, 1970–1971 University of Amsterdam, 1 day/week, January–May 1984 University of Leiden, 1 or 2 days/week, 1985–1988 Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, 1 day/week, October 1987 – January 1988 Institut Mittag-Leffler, Djursholm, Sweden, guest researcher in special program Analysis on Lie groups, October–November, 1995 Newton Institute, Cambridge, UK, guest researcher, April–May, 2001

Recent invited lecture

November 2, 2017: R. P. Agarwal Memorial Lecture, *Bispectrality and dual addition formulas*, at ICSFA-2017, Bikaner, Rajasthan, India.

Editorships

2006-present: SIGMA (member of editorial board)
until 2020: co-editor, joint with J. V. Stokman, of Vol. 2, *Multivariable special functions* in the Askey-Bateman project, Cambridge University Press.

PhD Theses prepared under my guidance

1979: I. G. Sprinkhuizen-Kuyper (University of Amsterdam, copromotor)
1983: M. T. Kosters (University of Leiden, copromotor)
1983: B. Hoogenboom (University of Leiden, copromotor)
1987: R. J. Beerends (University of Leiden, copromotor)

1991: H. T. Koelink (University of Leiden, copromotor)

1994: M. S. Dijkhuizen (University of Amsterdam, promotor)

1995: P. G. A. Floris (University of Leiden, one of two promotors)

1998: J. V. Stokman (University of Amsterdam, cum laude, promotor)

1999: G. Carnovale (University of Utrecht, one of two promotors)

1999: P. Oonincx (University of Amsterdam, promotor; copromotor N. M. Temme)

2018: E. Diekema (University of Amsterdam, copromotor)

Other doctorates at which I acted as a promotor

1993: A. O. Olde Daalhuis (University of Amsterdam, promotor; copromotor N. M. Temme)

1994: J. F. van Diejen (University of Amsterdam, promotor; main but informal advisor was S. N. M. Ruijsenaars)

2002: O. Lemmers (University of Amsterdam, promotor; copromotor J. J. O. O. Wiegerinck)

Committees outside UvA

2000–2010: Member (secretary and treasurer) of the board of the foundation Stichting voor Hoger Onderwijs in de Toegepaste Wiskunde

2003–2008: Member of the board of the Dutch research school MRI (Mathematics Research Institute)

2005–2007: member of SASTRA Ramanujan Prize Committee

2009-2010: member of the Committee for the Research Evaluation of the Mathematics Programs of the six universities in The Netherlands over the period 2003-2008

2009–2018: Constructive Approximation (member of editorial board)

2010–2018: Indagationes Mathematicae (member of editorial board)

2010–2013: member of selection committee for the Gábor Szegö Prize

2011–2014: member of selection committee for the Stieltjes PhD Prize of the Dutch Research School WONDER

2011–2018: chair of publication committee of Platform Wiskunde Nederland

2011–2015: member of Scientific Advisory Committee of the institute IMAPP, Radboud University, Nijmegen.

2012: chair of jury for the 2012 Compositio Mathematica Prize

2012–2017: member of editorial board of The Ramanujan Journal

2015-present: associate editor of DLMF (Digital Library of Mathematical Functions)

Administrative activities for popularizing mathematics

2004–2009: member of Dutch national "Taakgroep Landelijke Wiskunde-PR"

2004–2012: member of editorial board Kennislink

2008–2011: treasurer of organizing committee of International Mathematical Olympiad 2011, Netherlands

Memberships

Koninklijk Wiskundig Genootschap, European Mathematical Society, American Mathematical Society, SIAM, SIAM Activity Group on Orthogonal Polynomials and Special Functions